Posted by: gochet | October 2, 2007

Chili Dogs.

Quite a number of years ago, I decided that I would no longer be eating hot-dogs, because they’re made of such disgusting stuff. I don’t really even like hot-dogs, so it wasn’t that hard to stick to the decision, and life continued to pass. Occasionally, however, I would find myself in a position where having a hot-dog was really my only good option for a quick meal, and I fell from my self imposed hot-dog-free lifestyle from time to time…

Then, sometime this past summer, I had a Chicago-style dog at the VFW here in White Bear Lake, and it was like finally figuring out how to do math. Since I’ve quit smoking (over a year and a half now!), my taste buds have underwent phenomenal changes in what they like and don’t like. And while I really used to just hate lots of crap piled on top of a hot-dog, I have now found that I really, truly like it a lot.

So I am going to share with you my current favorite hot-dog toppings, and I encourage you to do the same for me. Thanks!

Chet’s Ultimate Hot Dog

One old-fashioned skin-on wiener.
One poppy-seed hot-dog bun.
One zucchini.
A little bit of onion
A little olive oil
Sauerkraut
A can of good meaty Chili (Firehouse brand used to be my favorite, but now I can’t find it, so I’m using Stagg)
Sweet relish

Cover the inside of the bun with garlic flavored hummus and sweet relish, and put your cooked (preferably grilled) wiener on. Cover with sauerkraut, chili and zucchini that’s been chopped and lightly fried in olive oil with some chopped onion.  Chopped tomato on top is good, too, if you think you’ve got the room.

Eat 3 of these, and lie down on the couch for 4 hours, because you shouldn’t be moving around very much right then.

(See, this is what happens when I can’t think of anything to post to my blog, but I really want to post something to my blog…)

Leave a Reply

Categories

