Posted by: gochet | August 17, 2006

New jobs kick the crap out of you.

I’ve made it through most of my first week at Best Buy, and I thought I would share some thoughts with you. First, let me offer yet another lame-o excuse as to why I haven’t been writing as much as I said I would. After about 5 months of being unemployed, lying around a lot, and drinking a bunch of beer, going to work every day is making me kind of tired. I’ll get used to it soon enough, and I don’t really expect you to feel sorry for me.

And about going to work again… What a place it is! If I could take pictures in the corporate campus at Best Buy’s HQ in Richfield, I would love to show you just how insanely cool the place really is. There’s a gym, a clinic, child care, pharmacy, dry cleaners, oil change place, general store, massive cafeteria, Caribou Coffee, video game parlor, theater, and a college all INSIDE MY WORKPLACE. Outside my workplace is covered parking, basketball courts, gardens, and putting greens. About the only thing that they don’t have there is a waterslide, and I’m sure that someone, somewhere is working on it. I’m fabulously lucky to have been invited to work there, and I’m well aware of how much I need to hang on to this gig. Which is the primary reason you won’t hear me talk about my job much on here anymore. I’m keenly cognizant of just how many stupid people lose their jobs because they were blogging about the wrong topics, and it got back to their boss. This isn’t gonna happen to me.

In other news, I’ve decided to take advantage of some of the new opportunities that have fallen into my lap, and have signed up for college classes again. I don’t know if I’m actually going to pursue a degree or anything, but I figure that having a little more education under my belt can only help my future prospects, and since BB is picking up the tab, I would be a fool to not take advantage of it. I’ll let you all know how it goes with being a 35 year old college student again.

And lastly for today, I’m hoping that you all have been looking at the stories that I post to my webpage at www.gochet.com. Until I decide what to do with my webspace, I’ve determined that I’ll just post some of my favorite snippets from the web on there. So, feel free to check them out if you’re bored, and I’ll be back with another update soon!

Leave a Reply

Categories

