Posted by: gochet | August 12, 2006

Intentions vs. reality: Care to take odds?

For someone who not long ago made public an intention to write everyday, I sure am being pretty half-assed about it, aren’t I?

But it’s OK. I have given myself permission to slack off just a little bit longer. Given myself just a bit more time for neglect. The last week has seen me playing a lot of golf, spending a great deal of time with my splendid and resplendent, well-formed and wonderful girlfriend (whom I am now officially ‘going steady’ with), and imbibing beers and liquors at an admirable rate.

I have visited a host of old haunts in various neighborhoods that I used to terrorize, tracked down old friends, failed to track down old friends, read a couple books, failed to read a couple books, mowed the lawn, cleaned the garage, visited some new places, re-visted some old, and generally been a bit of a pleasant smelling vagrant with a shiny nice car.

Furthermore, I intend to continue this behavior right on through the weekend, more or less. The new gig starts promptly at 8AM Monday morning, and at that point the madness must end. I believe, as the next week or two progresses, I will once again find myself dividing my time up into tiny little bite-sized chunks and pieces, such as you do when you pretend to be organized. At that point, I also believe that I will set aside a 15 or 20 minute block in my day to communicate with you all. Hopefully, that will bring my intention of daily posting to a better fruition.

But until then, this is what you get. Mindless ramblings from a weary and haggard soul who is only moments away from shutting this computer down and making his way to the bar.

I’ll talk to you all again after the weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

