Posted by: gochet | August 1, 2006

I can read!

“Those who do not read are no better off than those who cannot.” I’m quite the ardent believer in that old proverb, and at certain times, strive to remember it. Lately has been one of those occasions.

Last Friday, I needed something to do with my day that didn’t involve spending much money and did not require that I spend much time out in our apocalyptic heat (click and explore that link if you have the time). Having had a desire to visit the new Minneapolis library for a few months now, I decided to drive down and explore the new architecture in all of its air-conditioned splendor.

My opinions of the new library are mixed. The organization of the new space is impressive and the layout makes things relatively easy to find if you know what you’re looking for. The interior design, however, is straight out of an imagined 1972 IKEA catalog, and the computers that allow you to search the archives were clearly bought and compiled by those with liberal arts degrees. This post, however, was not intended to be a review of the new Minneapolis library.

This post is intended to familiarize you with my love of reading, and perhaps impart some of that love onto you. If you have a head for computers, technology, or the future of information, you may want to investigate the book that I started with this week, John Battelle’s ‘The Search.’ It’s a truly fascinating read, and will make you think about where the world is going to be in another 20 years. (Assuming that we make it that far)

That book didn’t take me long, so I’ve now gone onto an autobiography/retelling of Benjamin Franklin. The book is mostly a reprint of Franklin’s autobiography, but liberally laced with anecdotal information by Paul M Zall. I’ve always found Franklin to be a truly unique and astonishing human being, and this is the first time I’ve ever really sat down and researched the man. I’m only a couple of chapters into the read, but so far, I am not disappointed in the least.

I don’t find today’s post particularly illuminating, revelatory, or expressive, but I did want to take the time to let you all know what has been going on. And again, these posts are very much about learning to write daily, so be kind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

