Posted by: gochet | May 19, 2006

This is about what time I posted this.

I know, I know… I haven’t posted anything since I got back from China. You have my apologies. It appears that the re-adjustment to local time is taking longer than anticipated, and I’ve been spending alot of my days sleeping since I got home. Which would explain why I am now awake at 2:53 AM writing on my weblog. Of course, it would probably help if I had a job…

But I don’t. And for those of you who care, I’m not terribly interested in getting one. Quite a few people in my life have looked at me with raised eyebrows when I made this declaration to them, so for the sake of doing all my explaining in one convenient place, let me elaborate as to why I would make such a financially challenging decision.

For as long as I can remember (at least 15 years), I’ve been crowing about how I would like to work for myself. Have my own business. Take charge of my life a little more, and be less subject to the whims of corporate desk-jockeys and greedy business owners who only care about their employees until it starts to affect the P & L statement.

Well, I’m sick of listening to myself bitch.

There is NO good time to quit your job and start working for yourself. Everyone says you should ‘save up some cash’ or ‘have a little cushion’ before you venture off into the scary and unknown land called self-employment. Well, I’ve been waiting for 15 years for that. It ain’t ever gonna happen. I just realized that I’m 35 freaking years old. And the fear of being a little broke right now, and getting a little behind on my bills pales in comparison to my fear of lying on my death-bed, thinking to myself, “Dammit, I never even tried. ‘Cause I was scared.”

That second part. The lying on my death bed, disappointed in myself. That’s what scares me.

So, as you may have noticed by my newly updated webpage, I’m giving it a go. Just doing things that I know how to do well, and charging people for it. I’ve got a few ads out on http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/ (which you should really check out, because it’s a great site), put up a bunch of flyers, told a bunch of people what I’m up to (much like I’m telling you right now), and stopped looking for a “job.”

Because it’s not that I don’t want to work. I do. I want to work alot. And really hard.

I’m just not gonna work for anyone else anymore. And while the threats of eviction and starvation are very, and frighteningly, real, I don’t care. I’m gonna make this work, or die trying, because it’s the only damn thing that I’ve ever wanted out of life, and it would be a crying shame to just let it go.

So, if you know anyone who needs my services, I would greatly appreciate the referral. I also am in the works of putting together some online ways of generating income, and as those plans come to fruition, I’ll let you know about those as well.

Have a great day everyone, and wish me luck. Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

Categories

