Posted by: gochet | May 8, 2006

Apparently, China has some sort of largish, famous wall.

What kind of idiot would go to China, and not go to the great wall? And furthermore, what kind of idiot would go to the Great Wall of China and not buy a sweatshirt that says “I climbed the great wall of China”? Not this kind of idiot, I assure you.

Monday was Great Wall day for our little possy in Beijing. We awoke in the morning (myself with a raging hangover from an accidental drinking expedition that I had with Dave the bar owner on Sunday evening), and procured a driver for the day to take us to the Badaling section of the Great Wall, about 50 miles away from Beijing. It was, unfortunatlely, a very crappy, rainy, foggy, chilly, and wet kind of day, so that kind of put a damper on the excitement of the excursion. So we all bought touristy sweatshits. And I bought a hat made from rabbits, but I didn’t take a picture, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

The Great Wall of China is cool and everything, but ultimately, it’s just a damn wall made of rocks, so after climbing around for a bit and taking a bunch of pictures, we also made our way to an area known as the Longqing Gorge. The weather didn’t really bother me up until this point, but now it really started to piss me off, and I’m probably gonna stay pissed for a long, long time. The Longqing Gorge area is absolutlely beautiful. And nearly every part of the attraction was closed to us due to the rainy craptastic weather. No boat rides, no skycab, no alpine slide-style carts down the mountains, no bungee-jumping, no high wire acrobats, nothing. Just us taking photos of a dam in what amounts to about 1/20th of the Gorge area. If ever I return to Beijing, this is without question the first thing that I will want to do when I get here.

Assuming, of course, that it isn’t raining that day.

So here’s a bunch of pictures, just to prove that I’m not making this stuff up. Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

Categories

