Posted by: gochet | May 3, 2006

A day at the Museum of Chinese History

Today I decided to backtrack a little. Last time we were in Tianenmen Square, we didn’t have time to properly check out this building, The Museum of Chinese History, which is directly to the East of the square. So seeing as how Mom and Aunt didn’t have a lot planned today, I decided to jump in a cab and go check this place out. And boy, I’m glad I did!

Unfortunatley, I don’t have a lot of cool pics to show you (although I do have a few), because in most every area of the museum (except the wax museum exhibit), photos were strictly forbidden. But it was cool nonetheless, and I guess if you want to properly appreciate how advanced China was 3000 years ago, you can come the the place for yourself. Suffice to say that China was making things that blow your mind well before our version of history even began.

It would have been a little nicer though, had I not decided to go see this on one of the busiest Chinese holidays of the year. I can’t even begin to describe how many people were in and around Tianenmen Square today. Assuming that Beijing has a population of about 16 million people, I would be willing to wager that roughly half of them physically bumped into me today.

Then I decided to just wander through some back alleyways, eat some food, buy some crap I don’t need and go drink a couple of beers at the 5:19 (Dave’s bar). Now I need a nap, because evidently we’re all having dinner with some sort of cousin of mine that has been living in China for a few years, and is coming on a train to meet us for the evening. I’m hoping that it results in cocktails. 🙂

If you’d like to see a bunch of wax people whose historical significance eludes me (because none of the signs were in English), click here.

And, once again, I’ll talk to you all later… Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

Categories

