Posted by: gochet | May 2, 2006

This isn’t what it looks like. :-)

Today has been another bum-day. Which is good, because my feet are kind of sore from all the walking lately, and my wallet is feeling a little light as well. So we slept in today, went and had a nice italian lunch, and I’ve pretty much spent the rest of the day reading a book. So not a lot to report, I guess.

But I thought I would tell you a couple of things that I’ve learned the last few days. First of all, you can smoke apples, which is what you see me doing in the photo at Dave’s bar, the 5:19 club. (Named for the time when his happy hour starts) This photo is from Saturday, but I thought I would share it with you today.

Also, I found out why no one wears shorts. It seems that there is a negative social stigma attached to having dark skin in China, because only the poor people who work in fields or in construction are tan. So in order to show your wealth here, you should be as ghost white as possible. Therefore, no shorts, long sleeve shirs, and parasols when the sun is shining. The whiter you are, the more successful you are, I guess. Mystery solved, and I can continue to dress however I damn well please, ’cause I’m white already. Lucky me.

I’m not sure what we’re doing tomorrow, but if it’s just sitting around the apartment all day again, there’s a fair chance that I might end up going out to get drunk. I’ll keep you posted. Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

Categories

