Strange things afoot at the Circle K

Yesterday was a strange day.

You may notice that I did not post any thing yesterday, nor did I upload any photos. I must now confess that I failed to bring my camera with me yesterday because we were just going to do more shopping. (This is what happens when you travel with your Mom.) So we just went to a different ‘mall’ type place, and spent the morning looking at more crap. I thought I’d posted enough pictures of crap already, so I just left the camera at the apt.

Then I got a little bored. I’d had enough of 60 year old ladies and thier talk of facial cream, manicures, designer purses and the like, so I decided to just go for a walk around the area near the apartment for a while. I really didn’t think I’d need my camera, since it’s pretty much just a business district, so again, I left the camera behind.

Little did I know that I would stumble upon ‘Super Bar Street’ only a few blocks away.

Now, you must realize that at this point it’s only about 2 in the afternoon, and most of these bars weren’t even open, but it was a nice find anyway, and a bit of a surprise. An even bigger surprise was finding one little bar that had good music coming out of it. The third surprise was finding the bars Canadian owner sitting inside getting ready for the afternoons business. Then came surprise #4, when he offered to start serving me beer on the spot.

I think there may have been more surpirses, but I was soon too drunk to notice them. It turns out that Dave (the owner) and I had pleasant afternoon chatting about China, Beijing, Dr. Who, Battlestar Galactica, his time in Kiev, my time in Central America, and what it’s really like to live as a bar owner in a foriegn country for 13 years (which is how long he’s been here.)

Then later I went back to my Uncles’s place and passed out on the couch, just as everyone was getting ready to go out for dinner. I couldn’t tell if they were amused or displeased, because I kept seeing two of everybody.

So now I’ve been awake since 2 in the morning, and I think that I’m going to do some sightseeing today, while my Mom and Aunt go shopping. Again. Of course.

I’ll get back to you all with more stories and photos as soon as I can, after I see some stuff today, and go back to Dave’s bar for Just One Beer.

Leave a comment